When a customer submits a booking request but later decides not to go ahead, or fails to pay the required deposit within the specified timeframe, the booking can be cancelled by staff.
Cancelling the booking ensures that any payments already made can be processed appropriately, with refundable amounts returned to the customers account as credit and any non‑refundable fees retained as per your policy.
In This Article
| Note: Bookings can be setup to be automatically cancelled if terms are not signed, or payment is not made, if you are using the customer portal. This can be configured in Customer Portal settings. |
Cancelling a Single Booking
To cancel a booking, go to the booking view and click the dropdown in the top right and choose the Cancel Booking option.
You will then be shown the booking information, including any payments that have already been made.
Summary
The Summary tile will show the following information.
If the booking has been invoiced by displaying -
It will also display the status of payments -
Cancellation Options
Cancellation Reason – Provides the option to enter a brief explanation for the cancellation. This information is stored with the booking for reference and shown in the Cancelled Bookings report.
Non Refundable Amount – This field represents the portion of the booking payment that will be retained when a booking is cancelled.
- If the total payment received is less than the non‑refundable amount, the customer will have an outstanding balance on their invoice after cancellation.
- If a deposit has been marked as non‑refundable, that amount will automatically populate this field. Staff can adjust the value if required.
- If a booking has not yet been invoiced and the deposit has been marked as Non‑refundable, you can enable the system to automatically generate an invoice for the outstanding amount.
- If $0 is entered as the non‑refundable amount, then all payments received will be credited back to the customer’s account. If no payment has been made at all, the invoice will be automatically set to Void.
Restore Tokens – If the customer has used tokens as payment, an additional field will appear showing the number of tokens applied to the booking. The Restore Tokens field will automatically display the total number of tokens originally allocated.
If you do not want to return the used tokens to the customer when cancelling the booking, update the Restore Tokens value to 0. This will retain the used tokens instead of crediting them back to the customer’s account.
Manually Allocate Cancellation Credits – enable this if you wish to manually allocate the cancellation credits.
- This should only be enabled if you wish to process a refund, regardless of amounts owing prior to cancellation.
- Generally, this should just be left off.
After you have checked all the options, you can cancel the booking by pressing the green Cancel Booking button at the bottom of the page.
Cancelling a Booking Group
To cancel a booking group, you have two options, go to the booking group overview and click the dropdown in the top right and choose either the Cancel From Date or Cancel All option.
Cancel From Date - This action will cancel all bookings after the selected date, and may also remove quotes, void existing invoices, or generate new credits.
| Note that the date will default to today’s date. You’ll need to select a different date if you want to include past bookings or start from another point in time. |
Cancel All - This action will cancel all bookings after the selected date, and may also remove quotes, void existing invoices, or generate new credits.
| Note that the date will default to the first booking date within the group. |
Cancellation Reason - This will be applied to all cancelled bookings (it won’t be stored on the booking group itself).
Non Refundable Amount – This field represents the portion of the booking payment that will be retained when a group is cancelled.
Manually Allocate Cancellation Credits – enable this if you wish to manually allocate the cancellation credits.
Include Checked Out - Will cancel any bookings that have the status as checked out.
Cancel Booking Process
- Any uninvoiced items will be deleted.
- Any existing quotes are checked.
- If the quote contains only invoice items for this booking, the quote will be deleted.
- If a quote has invoice items for other bookings, a new quote will be generated, with any invoice items from this booking removed.
- Any existing invoices are checked.
- If the invoice has no payments, it will become voided.
- If there are payments, the invoice total (of the booking) will be added to a credit amount.
- Any booking extras will be marked as cancelled.
- If there are tokens to restore, restore the tokens to the customer.
- If there is a non-refundable amount, a new invoice will be created for that amount.
- If there is a credit amount, a new credit note will be created.
- Credit allocations will be made for any non-voided invoices with an amount owing.
If the non-refundable amount is less than the total amount that was paid, there will be credit remaining. This can be refunded or allocated to future bookings.
For More Information
On setting Non- refundable amounts on deposits view - Deposit Requirements - Settings
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.